Posted in career, confusion

Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled

Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.

meadow-677878_1280

Our decisions and choices make us the person we are. A number of times in life, we stand at crossroads wondering which way to go. The road we choose not to travel on, stays in our thoughts even long after the decision has been made. Once we are on the ‘”chosen” road, and are stumbling our way through it, we wonder if we made the right choice. And then when we taste success, we feel sure and confident about the decision we had once made. The “other road” still doesn’t leave as alone. It comes back in our daydreams and sometimes (in a much worse form) during a mid-life crisis.

Having been interested in English literature all through my school life, everyone was pretty sure that I would opt for a degree in Literature after school. When that did not happen and I chose, Communicative English (Linguistics) as my Major, it came as a little bit of a surprise to my family and teachers. But to be honest, I chose it mainly because a close friend of mine had signed up for the same course. Yes, for a 19 year old me, that was a reason good enough. However, after the three years of my college, when I decided to do a Masters’ degree,  I had to make a decision, and I knew by then, it had to be based on a reason stronger than the one used earlier. So, I laid out my options and picked the top 2 that could see myself enjoying- Journalism and Advertising.

After considering for about 2 and a half months, I decided to go for Advertising. One reason being the erratic work hours of a journalist, and God knows I need my 8 hours sleep each night! So, there it was, a decision made. Then suddenly it appeared to me that probably I should do my degree in general Marketing, so that if I ever felt like I have had enough of my job in Advertising I could easily look for a career change in the same industry. Very pleased with my decision making abilities, I then started sending out my applications…

Do I regret my decision? No.  …but I do often wonder how it could have been if I would have gone for Journalism. I tell myself that since all media are controlled by the people in power and the freedom of speech is, to an extent, just for the namesake, I would have felt suffocated very soon… Not to mention the sleepless nights I would have to spend. I’m sure being a journalist would have its own perks but as of now, I’m okay with not being one and just daydreaming about it at times.

Author:

Writer. Avid reader. Travel junkie. Thinker. Social media fanatic. Music geek. Nutella evangelist. Passionate music fan. Founder of Bee Found Marketing SIA (http://beefound-marketing.com)

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled

Leave a Reply

